Over 10 years we help companies reach their financial and branding goals. Maxbizz is a values-driven consulting agency dedicated.




411 University St, Seattle


P.J. Gardiner 2023 Newfoundland and Labrador Entrepreneur of the Year Award.

Entrepreneur Wade Dawe and public sector leader Julia Mullaley will be honoured by Memorial’s Faculty of Business Administration at its 36th annual Partners Celebration.

Entrepreneur Wade Dawe and public sector leader Julia Mullaley will be honoured by Memorial University’s Faculty of Business Administration at its 36th annual Partners Celebration.

The event takes place on Thursday, June 15, at the Emera Innovation Exchange, Signal Hill Campus.

Two business students, Belle Steinhauer and Mohammad Bashir, will receive awards for their contributions to student and university life through volunteerism and their demonstrated ability to apply academic experience in a real-world context.

Wade Dawe
Mr. Dawe (B.Comm.(Co-op.)’92), president of Brigus Capital Inc., will receive the P.J. Gardiner 2023 Newfoundland and Labrador Entrepreneur of the Year Award.
A venture capitalist, entrepreneur and investor, Mr. Dawe has played a pivotal role in the founding and success of a number of companies across a variety of sectors as a financier and company founder.
Recently, he founded Torrent Capital, which partnered with the Port of Argentia in 2022, to transform it into a national hub for green energy initiatives. He is also a fellow of the Creative Destruction Lab at Dalhousie University, through which he mentors young entrepreneurs.
Mr. Dawe established an annual $10,000 award at Memorial’s business faculty that supports student entrepreneurs. To date, the James R. Pearcey Award for Entrepreneurship has gifted more than $133,000 to Memorial students.

Julia Mullaley
Ms. Mullaley (B.Comm.(Co-op.)’89), chief executive officer of Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation, will take home the 2023 Alumni Honour Award. She has had a diverse 30-year career in the public sector.
In 2010 Ms. Mullaley received the Public Service Award of Excellence, the highest honour the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador can bestow on an employee.
She’s been at the helm of the housing corporation since 2020 and has served as the province’s auditor general, clerk of the executive council and secretary to cabinet and as deputy minister in the former departments of Advanced Education and Skills and Municipal Affairs. 
Ms. Mullaley has been a dedicated community volunteer over the years, playing active roles with Girl Guides of Canada, Heart and Stroke Foundation, Admiralty Museum and Archives Inc. and St. Peter’s Parish, among others.
She currently serves as an ex-officio board member of End Homelessness St. John’s.

Belle Steinhauer
Graduate student Belle Steinhauer (MBA’23) will receive the 2023 Dr. Victor Young Graduate Student Citizenship Award.
A member of the business faculty’s case competition for the master of business administration (MBA) program, Ms. Steinhauer participated in the John Molson International Case Competition in Montreal, Que.
She was also one of 10 MBA students from across Canada chosen to speak at the 2022 Global Business Forum in Banff, Alta.
She was a member of The Fund, the student-managed investment fund, and the Management Consulting Club.
Ms. Steinhauer is a graduate of Genesis’ Evolution Program with HIVE Geospatial, for which she is the business development lead.
She’s been recognized with several awards and scholarships at the business faculty and is a long-time volunteer at therapeutic riding centres across Canada. including Rainbow Riders in St. John’s.

Mohammad Bashir
Business administration student Mohammad Bashir is the winner of the Dr. Robert Crosbie Undergraduate Student Citizenship Award. He’s actively involved with student life.
Mr. Bashir has been the business faculty representative on the Memorial University Students’ Union and served as vice-president of finance and administration for the International Student Council.
He has also been a sports representative for Bowater House council and is involved with the Bangladeshi student forum.

Proud day
“Each year, we recognize leaders in our business community who have made a significant impact through innovative business practices, exceptional growth or dedicated community involvement,” said Dr. Travor Brown, the faculty’s interim dean. “We’re especially pleased that this year’s business award winners are both alumni of Memorial. They exemplify the type of leaders we hope to honour with these awards, and we’re proud to have played a role in their success.”
Partners is the business faculty’s annual celebration that brings together members of the faculty with students, donors, alumni and the business community to pay tribute to those who have achieved excellence in business while using their skills and expertise to contribute to their peers and communities.